Author Topic: Our music in the distant future: what will remain?  (Read 1970 times)

Offline MirrorMask

Our music in the distant future: what will remain?
« on: July 17, 2017, 12:20:02 PM »
I had the idea for this discussion quite a while, inspired partly by The Astonishing's storyline, but brought back to the front of my mind by a discussion in the DT section.

What do you think will remain of the "current" music a couple of generations from us? could we already predict it looking at classical music or the dawn of the modern music or we're still in uncharted territory?

I mean, I'm by no means an expert of music history, but I'd daresay that after the blues of the first half of 1900, after the war came the embryos of the "modern" music - Elvis first, and then the Beatles and Rolling Stones, and then eventually Black Sabbath starting all things metal.

Elvis is gone but could have been still here, half the Beatles are still here and 3/4 would without a murder, all the Rolling Stones are still here and Black Sabbath barely just retired. So logically all the bands and sub-genres that spawned from there, and the band spawned from the band spawned from the "elders", are still around. But what will remain of all of this two generations down the line?

Let me make a specific example: Wembley 1986. One of the most iconic concerts of one of the most beloved bands of all time - Queen. There will come a time, 150 years from now give or take (didn't make proper calculations), where *everyone* that attended that concert, and *every son or daughter* of those that attended that concert, will be dead. How many people will still cherish Freddie Mercury knowing exactly what he was all about?

How about the major acts of today... U2, Bruce Springsteen, Madonna, same question, how good they will be remembered when no one alive will be able to say "My father / mother saw this band live"?