Author Topic: RIP Allan Holdsworth  (Read 1293 times)

Offline goo-goo

RIP Allan Holdsworth
« on: April 16, 2017, 12:53:23 PM »
Generational talent. RIP

Online The Letter M

Re: RIP Allan Holdsworth
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2017, 01:20:35 PM »
Holy crap... I just saw Andy Tillison post about this. Wow. I'm not too deep into his work but I know his name, have heard UK, and know that he's a big deal. Rest In Peace, Allan... :'(

-Marc.
ATTENTION - HAKEN FANS! The HAKEN SURVIVOR 2023 has begun! You can check it out in the Polls/Survivors Forum!!!

Online Elite

• The 'other' Rich
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • also, a tin teardrop
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2017, 01:24:17 PM »
What the fuck

Nooo
Hey dude slow the fuck down so we can finish together at the same time.  :biggrin:
Squ
scRa are the resultaten of sound nog bring propey

Offline MrBoom_shack-a-lack

• I hit things for a living!
  • DTF.org Member
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2017, 02:42:10 PM »
Didn't get around to check out his music that much but I knew him by name and knew his been a big inspiration to alot of famous musicians.

RIP
« Last Edit: April 16, 2017, 02:47:15 PM by MrBoom_shack-a-lack »
"I said to Nigel Tufnel, 'The door is open if you want to do anything on this record,' but it turns out Nigel has a phobia about doors." /Derek Smalls

Offline PowerSlave

« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2017, 02:55:16 PM »
Much like others that have posted, I wasn't deeply into his music, but I admired his talent and impact on the instrument. In fact, when I had my Carvin built in the mid 2000's, I paid extra to have his signature pickups put into the guitar because I always thought that his tone was fantastic.

RIP
All of this has happened before and all of this will happen again

Offline rumborak

• DT.net Veteran
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2017, 04:23:05 PM »
Saw him in Somerville at the now defunct Johnny D's, with Virgil Donati at the drums. Cool stuff. Somewhat over my head, but still cool.