Author Topic: Tommy Emmanuel  (Read 1228 times)

Offline MrBoom_shack-a-lack

• I hit things for a living!
  • DTF.org Member
Tommy Emmanuel
« on: January 16, 2017, 02:21:31 PM »
I guess most people are aware of Tommy these days. I have known him for quite some time and every time I stumble upon him on YT or FB or whatever i'm always taken away how much musicianship and virtuosity that guy possess, it's quite astounding.

I'm not sure why I haven't seen him live yet because I would love too.

Anyone seen him live?

There's countless of videos online but I stumble upon this wonderful collab he did with Ian Cooper today: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FQL227Wtv_Y
"I said to Nigel Tufnel, 'The door is open if you want to do anything on this record,' but it turns out Nigel has a phobia about doors." /Derek Smalls

Offline bl5150

• DTF.org Alumni
Re: Tommy Emmanuel
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2017, 02:25:30 PM »
Decades ago I saw him live a couple of times , but then that's not so unusual as he's a local boy to me in Australia and has been well known around here for a very long time.

You're right - a very interesting player.   Sometimes a bit too interesting for my taste (a few too many flourishes) but no doubt a very accomplished, complete player in his niche.
"I would just like to say that after all these years of heavy drinking, bright lights and late nights, I still don't need glasses. I drink right out of the bottle." - DLR

www.theguitardojo.com.au

Online TAC

• DTF.org Alumni
  • Arthritic Metal Horns
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2017, 02:34:00 PM »
I guess most people are aware of Tommy these days. 

They are? I've never heard of him.
would have thought the same thing but seeing the OP was TAC i immediately thought Maiden or DT related
Winger Theater Forums........or WTF.  ;D
TAC got a higher score than me in the electronic round? Honestly, can I just drop out now? :lol

• DTF.org Member
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2017, 02:48:14 PM »