Author Topic: The Chicken or The Egg ?  (Read 2663 times)

Offline Chino

• Be excellent to each other.
  • DT.net Veteran
Re: The Chicken or The Egg ?
« Reply #70 on: December 14, 2017, 08:38:43 AM »
Just because two entities have similar traits does not mean that one derives from the other, or that they are even related. I'm not an expert, but I believe that under "evolution theory", this is called "convergent evolution".

As I explained earlier in the thread:

"This is known as convergence in the evolutionary world. Two creatures arriving a similar design because it's what's best given the variables of nature, despite being different species. Look at dolphins vs sharks. Sharks have been in the water their entire existence, and dolphins evolved from a four legged land creature. Both ended up arriving at very similar designs despite evolving completely independent of one another. It's speculated that because of this, if we were to find an alien planet with advanced sea life, and assuming they rely on speed to not die/reproduce, it's very likely they'd look similar to Earth's fish. "
Dolphins evolved from a four legged land creature?  I never heard of that, is there proof of that?  I believe dolphins have always been dolphins, whales have always been whales, Sharks have always been sharks.
 Sharks and dolphins are completely unrelated. Dolphins are mammals and sharks are fish. Dolphins and whales are warm blooded, fish are cold blooded. Dolphins and whales also have a much more complex brain and are very social creatures..  It's almost like they are stewards of the sea kind of like humans are stewards of the land. Lol

Correct. Genetic and fossil evidence all points to that, without any of the evidence being out of order in the fossil record (where the specimens are found around the globe and in what layer of rock).

I've been trying to find a concise article that explains it well without being a complete chore to get through. I think this one does a nice job.