Author Topic: Confirmation Hearings  (Read 668 times)

Offline TAC

• DTF.org Alumni
  • Just a decent, normal metal-head fellow
Confirmation Hearings
« on: January 11, 2017, 08:05:03 PM »
Bosk, I hope I'm not breaking any rules but........................................................................just kidding  ;D

Anyway, I've tried to follow the hearings this week. I'm no expert. But it seems that the two most vocal opponents in their respective hearings are Booker (AG Hearing) and Rubio (SOS). It feels like they are both planting soundbites for their respective Presidential runs.
I feel like it actually undermines their credibility.

Does that make sense?
would have thought the same thing but seeing the OP was TAC i immediately thought Maiden or DT related
Winger Theater Forums................or WTF.  ;D

Online El Barto

• DTF.org Alumni
  • Bad Craziness
Re: Confirmation Hearings
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2017, 08:47:25 PM »
Yup. Haven't heard much of Booker, but Rubio certainly sounded like a tool while making Tillerson look quite respectable.
Argument, the presentation of reasonable views, never makes headway against conviction, and conviction takes no part in argument because it knows.
E.F. Benson

Online millahh

• Retired Pedantic Bastard
  • Moderator Emeritus
  • RIP Mark
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2017, 09:04:41 PM »
Didn't see any of it, but Booker acts from conscience, almost to a fault.  While mayor of Newark he actually did rescue someone from a burning building, would help old folks shovel their walks so they could get food, etc.  Complete boy scout, and with a heavy commitment to civil rights.
Quote from: parallax
WHEN WILL YOU ADRESS MY MONKEY ARGUMENT???? NEVER???? THAT\' WHAT I FIGURED.:lol

Offline Dave_Manchester

« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2017, 05:22:18 AM »
Rubio was an embarrassment and illustrative of why we're in a lot of the mess we're in. His sneering cross-examination basically amounted to this: