Author Topic: RIP Maurice White  (Read 955 times)

Offline MrBoom_shack-a-lack

• I hit things for a living!
  • DTF.org Member
RIP Maurice White
« on: February 05, 2016, 01:40:08 AM »
Another legend gone sadly! I will always treasure what you did with/for Earth, Wind and Fire and all the songs you wrote.

RIP Maurice
« Last Edit: February 05, 2016, 01:54:52 AM by MrBoom_shack-a-lack »
"I said to Nigel Tufnel, 'The door is open if you want to do anything on this record,' but it turns out Nigel has a phobia about doors." /Derek Smalls

Offline Polarbear

Re: RIP Maurice White
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2016, 02:02:11 AM »
2016 sucks so far...

R.I.P Maurice, time for me to spin some Earth, Wind and Fire.

Offline wolfking

• DTF.org Alumni
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2016, 03:59:09 AM »
Not a big fan or anything, but this guy was a boss, he was super fucking cool.  RIP Maurice.
Everyone else, except Wolfking is wrong.

Offline darkshade

« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2016, 09:54:43 AM »
RIP - too many music greats leaving us this year.

Offline splent

• Moderator Emeritus
  • DTF's resident music educator/conductor
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2016, 11:04:21 AM »
I caught them live about 5 years ago and it was an amazing show. This guy killed it. What a musician.
I don’t know what to put here anymore

Offline Dellers

• Funky Norwegian!
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2016, 12:28:28 PM »
Earth, Wind & Fire is my favorite band of all time, and Maurice White was a musical genius. It's sad to see so many great musicians pass every year, especially as a fan of black music from the 70's.
https://soundcloud.com/dellers2/jpxi-o
Religious faith can only exist when there is no God, otherwise there wouldn't be a reason to believe.

Offline LudwigVan

• Proglodyte
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2016, 07:59:06 PM »
RIP.

Earth Wind and Fire were a fantastic band. Such good players. I think Maiden\Derek Riggs stole the Powerslave album art from them lol.