Author Topic: The What If? Thread  (Read 13451 times)

Offline Pragmaticcircus

• Classical Composer, Avant prog guitarist , musical artist, music fan, producer and much more....
  • The man wants his coffee ☕
The What If? Thread
« on: November 26, 2015, 08:16:01 PM »
As a newbie here of 1 week now, this will be my first thread  ;D

Anyway, while we're still waiting for the Astonishing, why not do a what if thread?  But let's keep it moderately serious! (and discuss our thoughts?)

What if DT released Metropolis Pt 2 on Falling Into Infinity? Where do you think their 5th album would have gone?
« Last Edit: November 26, 2015, 08:34:03 PM by Pragmaticcircus »
"The thing that kills me is all these bands that use huge words in their lyrics, 'I'm swimming in a vortex of apathy.' I'm like, 'What?' I don't walk up to a friend and go 'That's a stylin' looking vortex of apathy you've got there pal. I was swimming up a river of deceit myself."
- Devin Townsend
"poop" - Ziltoid
Prog for life, all hail metal, I'm very Avant Garde,  God give me back my razor, and all that shit!

Offline Nomaniac

• Long Live Dream Theater!!!
  • Dream Theater Fanatic
Re: The What If? Thread
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2015, 08:28:58 PM »

What if DT released Metropolis Pt 3 on Falling Into Infinity? Where do you think their 5th album would have gone?

You mean Metropolis Pt. 2, right?  ;)

Well I personally think (maybe I'm wrong) they still would have went for a Rock Opera, but about something else. It was about time in their career for it anyways . . .

Cool thread idea btw  :smiley: I'll try to think of one!
"Through Nature's Inflexible Grace, I'm Learning To Live"

Offline Nomaniac

• Dream Theater Fanatic
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2015, 08:31:24 PM »
Okay how about this . . . what if Dream Theater had kept the line-up of LaBrie-Petrucci-Myung-Moore-Portnoy all the way until today? How specifically do you think their music would be different and how would it be similar?