Author Topic: Drumcorps in the US  (Read 949 times)

Online MrBoom_shack-a-lack

• I hit things for a living!
  • DTF.org Member
Drumcorps in the US
« on: August 24, 2015, 10:14:56 AM »
I don't know how many that's familiar with DCI or Drum and bugle corps in general but I would assume that most Americans know what i'm talking about. Atleast you know the Marching Bands or Show Bands that entertain during half time. You may not know though about the competition aspect of Drumcorps which Drum Corps International (DCI) is all about which is a totally diffrent thing from the regular Marching Bands. It's all about precision, virtuosity, showmanship and pushing things to the absolute max. Here's a few example:

Bluecoats 2015 Drumline
Blue Devils -Hornline 2014

I grew up with playing in a Marching Band and for along time i've been highly inspired by DCI and the precision that goes into being in a top level marching band like the Blue Devils or the Cadets for example. As a drummer myself it's crazy what raw talent those guys bring out and it doesn't help that none of them are over 22 given that's the age limit.

We have in general a pretty good music education in Sweden, I've had some amazing teachers so I don't complain. We don't however have Marching Bands in high school tied to music education in school like you have in the US. As a drum teacher myself I would love that. We have bands outside of school of course but still the Marching or Drumcorps tradition like the US have is limited to a few bands and they're easily counted.

Simply put I think DCI is awesome and I would love to see a show in real life.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2015, 12:34:16 PM by MrBoom_shack-a-lack »
"I said to Nigel Tufnel, 'The door is open if you want to do anything on this record,' but it turns out Nigel has a phobia about doors." /Derek Smalls

Offline Metro

• DTF Resident Sloth
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • sloth.exe
Re: Drumcorps in the US
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2015, 10:42:21 AM »