Author Topic: What do you love about your job?  (Read 2623 times)

Offline bout to crash

• Admiral Jackbar
  • DT.net Veteran
  • Instant Erection!
What do you love about your job?
« on: June 25, 2015, 06:46:26 PM »
Let's look at the positive side of things! There's always a lot to bitch about when it comes to work, but there are plus sides to every job. Let's hear 'em.

I'm a hospice social worker, and despite the exhaustion it can bring I feel very fortunate to have found an awesome field/job and to be doing something that is not only truly making a difference on a daily basis, but positively impacts the way I live my life/spend my time. You think a lot more about how to seize the day and live life in a way that makes you happy when you are constantly reminded of the fact that it will end- maybe at 96, maybe at 35.
Also, the money is better than I expected for a social work job (plus we just got a 403b), and the independence I have is amazing. For the most part, I make my own schedule, I spend my days driving around visiting people, and there is nobody breathing down my neck. Sure, my boss may occasionally have to remind me of something I forgot to do, but for the most part she trusts me to get things done. Most of my coworkers are awesome and I feel like I'm part of an amazing team that really helps people live and die in the best way they can.
We get a quarterly "wellness" benefit which for me means a free massage  ;D (others can get facials, manicures, aromatherapy/pain creams, and more)... which leads me to the fact that the company as a whole is very flexible and understanding and encourages us to take care of ourselves when we need to. They've found ways to keep people on staff who have broken legs and can't drive, the team has come together to help out coworkers with cancer or with sick family members, that sort of thing. You have to have a big heart to be in this field, and that shows in how we're treated as employees and colleagues. Good stuff.