Author Topic: The PC thread  (Read 101601 times)

Offline MrBoom_shack-a-lack

• I hit things for a living!
  • DTF.org Member
The PC thread
« on: September 25, 2014, 06:03:14 PM »
So I thought a thread that we could talk about hardware products, software, games, CGI, CAD or anything surrounding the PC would be fun. You can use the thread for either questions, troubleshooting, discussions, tips, news or whatever. I myself wouldn't call myself an expert in anyway but I know there's alot of knowledgeable members on the forum.

My first introduction to a PC was in the early 90s when my parents bought a Compaq PC (if I remember correctly). I do know that it contained the almighty gaming beast of a microprocessor Intel 80486 more common as the 486. I think it had a clock speed around 40-50mhz or something like that and ran win 3.1.
On that I played Wolfenstein 3D, MS Flight Simulator, MS Golf, Wing Commander and many more. Good times!
After that I abandoned the PC as a gaming platform by watching a buddy playing Tomb Raider on his brand new PS1. I was completely blown away by the suspense and them graphics. What was more awesome was that I realized it was much easier wishing for a PS1 for christmas than a PC which proved to be true. So I got sucked in the console swamp and stayed there for the next 10+ years.
It wasn't until a couple of years ago that I bought and buildt my first PC aimed for gaming. An i7-980 with a clock speed of 3.2Ghz which was a bit more speedy than the trusty 486. I'm not sure how of or if you can measure that. Would be cool if you could though.
It has since been quite heavily upgraded. I now run an i7-4770k with a GTX 780 as my trusty GPU. That damn thing cost me a kidney and a left nut even though I got it a good price but i'm more than happy with it. It's a beast or rather it was a beast a year ago when I bought it, everyone knows a CPU or GPU is "dated" as soon as it hits the market.

Some cool recent news: