Author Topic: DT & Jazz  (Read 4196 times)

Offline tiagodon

DT & Jazz
« on: September 25, 2014, 11:48:14 AM »
DT is the band that introduced me to jazz. IMO, without jazz there would be no progressive music. Today I see DT music as the metal version of the bebop jazz.

Anyway... I thank them for that!

My intention with this thread is to get to know fans that got to love jazz because of prog music and are consumers of jazz music today. I think we could share some good stuff here.

I am a beginner. This is what DT led me to so far:

a) Animals as Leaders - very jazzy sound, but still prog metal;
b) Virgil Donattiīs In This Life - great fusion (metal-jazz);
c) Hiromi Trio Project - great jazzy piano with bass and drums with a rock nīroll feel;
d) Dave Weckl Band - Iīd say that I admire his drumming as I do Portnoyīs (and Donattiīs, and Garstkaīs).

If thereīs anyone there with a similar taste, what would you recommend?

Offline Tis BOOLsheet

• Banned
Re: DT & Jazz
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2014, 11:51:41 AM »
I don't see too strong a connection between the two, but guitar players may enjoy Allan Holdsworth, Pat Martino, Return To Forever, etc.

Offline adamack

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2014, 12:13:38 PM »
If thereīs anyone there with a similar taste, what would you recommend?

If you haven't checked out Steven Wilson's solo stuff yet, I highly recommend it if you love prog/rock/jazz.

He is incredible live, complete with a band of virtuosos.

This song is amazing, and a perfect example of how he infuses jazz with progressive music: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Hp6lYx4Fvw

Hope you enjoy.

Offline tiagodon

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2014, 12:30:26 PM »
OMG, Adamack! Thatīs deep! And disturbing! Iīve been listening to a lot of his solo stuff since I read your post. Not exactly jazz, but great material! Thanks!

Offline tiagodon

« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2014, 12:45:11 PM »