Author Topic: The Official Exercise/Fitness Thread v. Back on the bandwagon  (Read 17239 times)

Offline gmillerdrake

• Proud Father.....Blessed Husband
  • DTF.org Member
  • 1 Timothy 2:5
Re: The Official Exercise/Fitness Thread v. Back on the bandwagon
« Reply #420 on: July 27, 2017, 02:21:03 PM »
  i already had a really good endurance base from years of marathon running, so i definitely wasn't starting from scratch.

I think that's where I'd have a good start as well being that I've been running for a solid 10 years at least three times a week...often times more....with a couple marathons and a good dozen or so half marathons under my belt. I'm an above average swimmer but I've never swam for distance so I know that's a whole new ballgame as far as muscle training and the only time I've biked for any distance was the one sprint tri I did a few years back that was 25 miles.

I have a hunch prior to years end I may be signed up for a full Ironman. I have some convincing to do with the wife because of the training involved.
Without Faith.....Without Hope.....There can be No Peace of Mind

Offline SchecterShredder

« Reply #421 on: July 27, 2017, 02:39:55 PM »
The swim was definitely the most daunting part for me. 2.4m is a long way to go in the water,  and i don't think i could even do it in salt water without throwing up. Getting in the bike volume is the tough part of training cause you need a good block of 4-5 hours just for a long ride itself, let alone if it's part of a brick workout.

Best of luck if you decide to take it on! It was definitely worth it crossing  the finish line after a year of dedicated training.

Offline SchecterShredder

« Reply #422 on: August 13, 2017, 09:04:40 AM »