Author Topic: Accompanying a soloist on piano (or guitar, etc.)  (Read 1402 times)

Online Orbert

• Recovering Musician
  • EZBoard Elder
  • In and around the lake
Accompanying a soloist on piano (or guitar, etc.)
« on: April 01, 2014, 12:30:53 PM »
I started playing the piano when I was 10 years old, and added various band instruments later.  In junior high and high school, there were the school talent shows, and also Solo and Ensemble Festival.  As one of a handful of people who played the piano, I was often asked to accompany both singers and instrumentalists.  I loved doing that.  I had the freedom to "be the orchestra" and pretty much do whatever I wanted, because everyone's attention was on the soloist.  In fact, if I did my job well, no one really noticed me, but the soloist did better because they could count on me to follow them and be there for them.  For classical stuff, it was more structured and I couldn't vary from the script much, but even then, I knew that as long as I was playing something in the right key with the right chords, we'd be fine.  And with popular music, the challenge was filling in all the stuff that they don't write out in the sheet music.  Adding rhythm and motion, dynamics, giving the soloist everything they need to give a great "unplugged" rendition of the song, or maybe even more than that.  Once in a while, someone might mention that I did a good job, but really, it wasn't about me, and I was probably enjoying myself more than anyone else in the room.

Last Sunday, our Youth Director Shannon sang a song in church that I'd never heard before (not unusual) and she'd asked me to accompany her.  She didn't have any sheet music; she'd written down some chords that she'd worked out but half of them turned out to be wrong.  All I had to go on was a YouTube video of a band doing the song, three days to come up with something, and one rehearsal.  Whoa.