Author Topic: Let's commemorate DT at JP, JM and KM's high school...  (Read 1373 times)

Offline Mebert78

• DTF.org Alumni
Let's commemorate DT at JP, JM and KM's high school...
« on: July 22, 2022, 01:03:12 PM »
Hey, everyone.  I have a DT-related idea and I wanted to see if there's any interest.  I work in the education field on Long Island, NY, and I occasionally interact with people at Kings Park High School (which is where JP, JM and KM graduated in 1985).  Anyway, during my last conversation with someone there I mentioned that DT recently won their first Grammy after a long and illustrious career and I inquired if there's anything honoring the band at the school -- whether a plaque, a piece of memorabilia, a sidewalk brick/engraving, etc.  The person determined that the only item honoring DT is a small and outdated plaque featuring John Petrucci (see below).  She also spoke with the school's music director and that person said they'd welcome a donation of something for display regarding DT.

So, I was thinking it could be cool for the DT Forums to donate something for display that commemorates the fact that three founding members graduated from that school in 1985.  It could be anything from a work of art created by a forum member to a photo collage to a piece of special memorabilia that we could frame and gift to the school.  Whatever it is, we could also add one of those engraved name plates that says: "Dream Theater" in the DT font with the Majesty symbol and "John Petrucci (Class of 1985)," "John Myung (Class of 1985)," "Kevin Moore (Class of 1985)," or something like that.  And then, of course, it would say "Donated by the Dream Theater Forums."