Author Topic: MTV in the 80s Song of the Day  (Read 305388 times)

Offline KevShmev

• EZBoard Elder
MTV in the 80s Song of the Day
« on: March 14, 2012, 01:12:49 PM »
Time to get another song of the day thread going, this one about 80s songs, specifically ones that gained popularity by being played on MTV a lot. 

Plus, it will give many of us who are suckers for 80s music a chance to talk about those songs that maybe aren't worthy of their own threads, so to speak. 

Whitesnake - Is This Love

Earlier today, I was at Quiznos, this song was playing at the store, and all I could think was, "Is this song really 25 years old already?"  Hard to believe.  1987 was the year I graduated from 8th grade, and a bunch of us spent that whole summer hanging out before we all went to different high schools, and about a dozen or so songs from that time period remind me of that summer, including this Whitesnake tune. :coolio
« Last Edit: August 20, 2012, 07:36:44 AM by KevShmev »

Offline jingle.boy

• I'm so ronery; so sad and ronery
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • DTF's resident deceased dictator
Re: MTV in the 80s Song of the Day
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2012, 01:34:33 PM »
Personally, one of the worst songs on an otherwise flawless album.  Just inspired me to go and give it a spin. 

Following this thread, as I'm a full on junkie for glam/hair metal.
That's a word salad - and take it from me, I know word salad
I fear for the day when something happens on the right that is SO nuts that even Stadler says "That's crazy".
Quote from: Puppies_On_Acid
Remember the mark of a great vocalist is if TAC hates them with a special passion

Offline KevShmev

• EZBoard Elder
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2012, 01:36:25 PM »
Sweet.  I will touch everything from Whitesnake to Debbie Gibson to Bon Jovi to Adam Ant to Madonna to Tears for Fears in this thread.  If it got played on MTV a lot in the 80s, it is fair game! :biggrin:

Offline lonestar

• DTF Executive Chef
  • Official DTF Tour Guide