Author Topic: Chess  (Read 4198 times)

Offline 73109

• DTF.org Member
Chess
« on: February 14, 2012, 10:00:43 PM »
So, long story short, I got this wicked cool chess set as an incentive for me to learn how to play. When I say learn, I mean strategy, tactics, winning etc. I know how to set up the board and I know how pieces move, but that is about it when it comes to my knowledge. Consequently, my parents gave me a 20 dollar gift certificate to Barnes and Nobles with the intention of me buying a chess book. I don't know what to buy and the internet isn't helping much, so I decided to come here. Any of you have any good ideas. I want something that isn't just novice, but doesn't go way over my head. Like something that takes me from basic to middle of the road strategy. I want to avoid "How to..." books or "...for Dummies" books because they suck monkey balls.

Any ideas?

Offline MasterShakezula

• Owes H $10
Re: Chess
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2012, 10:03:04 PM »
I've no experience in chess, but I'd recommend playing chess with other people who know what they're doing, in addition to reading up.  No education better than the real deal.

You probably know that already, though, don't you.   

Offline JayOctavarium

• I used to be a whorejerk
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • But then I took a Hef to the knee...
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2012, 10:08:57 PM »
I like chests...

wait...

Honestly when I was younger I dabbled in chess... but never found anyone who was interested enough to play...  :|
I just don't understand what they were trying to achieve with any part of the song, either individually or as a whole. You know what? It's the Platypus of Dream Theater songs. That bill doesn't go with that tail, or that strange little furry body, or those webbed feet, and oh god why does it have venomous spurs!? And then you find out it lays eggs too. The difference is that the Platypus is somehow functional despite being a crazy mishmash or leftover animal pieces