Author Topic: Any accountants here? (career/homework help)  (Read 988 times)

Offline ZBomber

• "The Analogy Guy"
  • A Farewell to Kings
Any accountants here? (career/homework help)
« on: November 03, 2011, 10:07:48 PM »
Are there any accountants on the forum? I'm in my junior year and I am currently majoring in accounting... except, well, I'm not exactly sure it's what I wanna do for a living.  :lol It would be cool if someone here does it because they might be able to answer some of my questions about what the job entails, etc.

Also, I'm working on something for one of my classes. I have two concerns.
The first of which is this damned balance sheet. I know I did it wrong because it's not balanced. It's off by $2800. A trick my professor taught me is to split that in half, look for that value, and your error usually lies there. And it might be that I subtracted it when I should have added, but I don't think that's right... (the one I'm looking at is premium on bonds payable)
This is the problem:

(that last line should say total liabilities+se)

https://i.imgur.com/1UJUe.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/IGa6U.jpg

The other problem I have is with capital stock/additional paid in capital. This whole area is just kind of baffling to me, and I don't think I ever really had a strong foundation on it since the teacher that taught me it was a little bit crazy and didn't do much teaching.  :lol For this problem, I have to fill in the missing values. For 2010, I know that I can get the liabilities by subtracting the equity from assets, but I just can't seem to figure out the equity section. If someone could help me figure out how to do the capital stock/additional paid-in fields, that would be great.

https://i.imgur.com/HejuL.jpg