Author Topic: Stepping up to a 5 or 6 string bass.  (Read 892 times)

Offline Algo Fonix

• The Generic Dr. Pepper
  • DT.net Member
  • Pretty tired
Stepping up to a 5 or 6 string bass.
« on: October 13, 2011, 08:29:57 AM »
I've been playing bass for about 6 years now and I really only play now when I want to play along with whatever music I'm listening to. I'll sometimes jam with buddies but I don't really have an aim to be in a band or anything. Just kinda getting that out of the way...

Anyways, I've been itching to jump up to an instrument with more strings for a while now. From the get-go I was running into songs that forced me to detune or find re-arranged tabs and that sucked. I know 5 strings would definitely be enough but I don't know if I should just take the plunge and buy a 6 string when I can afford it. I figure either will be a pretty big adjustment so I just don't know.

So yeah, people that have done it before... should I go to a 5 string before getting a 6 string or should I just make the big leap all at once?

Not exactly a pressing issue, but I'm thinking of getting my next bass sometime next year so I'm looking at them now.  Thanks.

Offline kirksnosehair

• DTF.org Alumni
  • Bryce & Kylie's Grandpa
Re: Stepping up to a 5 or 6 string bass.
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2011, 12:52:38 PM »
I play a 5 string and love having that low B string available.  I don't know if I'd even want a 6 string.  I know I don't NEED it. 

As far as the adjustment goes, I thought it was pretty easy

Offline (nothing)

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2011, 02:09:59 PM »