Author Topic: ethics of using Grooveshark to listen to new music  (Read 14219 times)

Offline Ħ

ethics of using Grooveshark to listen to new music
« on: June 20, 2011, 10:06:48 AM »
So, I understand that Grooveshark has lisences to stream most of their material.  I've been primarily using Grooveshark to discover new bands, since it is the best legal way I can think of.  However, my dilemma is that I know that the sound quality is terrible, and I don't want to adopt a "throw-away" mentality (as Steven Wilson puts it) and simply dismiss an artist because of Grooveshark's poor quality.  Yet I am a poor college student and can't afford to buy albums all the time.

So it's kind of a paradox: I want to listen to as many artists as I can, but I also want to appreciate an artist's songs in the production it was meant to be listened to.  Do any of you relate to me, and do any of you have any tips/advice?
"All great works are prepared in the desert, including the redemption of the world. The precursors, the followers, the Master Himself, all obeyed or have to obey one and the same law. Prophets, apostles, preachers, martyrs, pioneers of knowledge, inspired artists in every art, ordinary men and the Man-God, all pay tribute to loneliness, to the life of silence, to the night." - A. G. Sertillanges

Offline 7StringedBeast

• DTF.org Alumni
Re: ethics of using Grooveshark to listen to new music
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2011, 10:14:38 AM »
It's funny that in this day and age it seems that everyone feels like they are entitled to hear any music they want when they want for no cost. 
If anyone in this thread judge him; heyy James WTF? about you in Awake In Japan? Then I will say; WTF about you silly?

Offline contest_sanity

« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2011, 10:16:38 AM »
Yeah, I wish we could go back to the days of buying albums based on 1 song we heard and then the rest of the album sounding like goat shit.  Those were the times.

Offline FretMuppet

• DAIM that looks good!