Author Topic: Taking pics at concerts  (Read 4529 times)

Offline 2Timer

• The only DT fan who plays country music!
  • Don't turn your back on parrot eyes
Taking pics at concerts
« on: May 16, 2011, 03:04:29 PM »
I don't know if this belongs in the concert forum or not, but I'm going to see Moon Safari in a theater on Friday night. The venue says no flash photography, and I am not good at using my wife's camera. It's a Kodak Easyshare Z950.
Does anyone have any suggestions for which settings to use to get the best quality shots? We're in 10th row, so I should be able to zoom right up on their faces, but I don't know anything about the light settings and stuff.
Thanks in advance!
I am God when it goes to hell
When it turns out good I'm not to blame

Offline Ultimetalhead

• The Mighty Masturbator
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • .ay rof dab s'ti dna...
Re: Taking pics at concerts
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2011, 03:05:43 PM »
Just take the pictures with flash. What the hell are they going to do about it?
Orion....that's the one with a bunch of power chords and boringly harsh vocals, isn't it?
LOOK AT THIS AWESOME SHIT AHHHHHH

Offline rumborak

• DT.net Veteran
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2011, 03:07:47 PM »
IMHO, either take a camera that can handle low-light settings, or just don't take any pics at all. The problem with flash in these things is, they only annoy people, but they don't improve the picture. The stage is too far away to receive any significant amount of flash light, and so all you get is whitened out people in front of you.

rumborak
"I liked when Myung looked like a women's figure skating champion."

Offline King Postwhore

• Couch Potato
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • Take that Beethoven, you deaf bastard!!
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2011, 03:08:31 PM »
TAC is the master at taking pics at concerts.  PM him.  He may be at work so he'll answer you later.