Author Topic: Recommended reading for a bassist?  (Read 1376 times)

Offline Algo Fonix

• The Generic Dr. Pepper
  • DT.net Member
  • Pretty tired
Recommended reading for a bassist?
« on: October 26, 2010, 10:54:36 AM »
I've been playing bass since back in 2003, but in the past year or so I've decided I want to buckle down and really improve my playing.  My girlfriend (God bless her) got me "Bass for Dummies" for Valentine's day, but I really need something that has some good exercises for improving speed and accuracy and whatnot.  I figure that's a tall request, but if a good book exists I'd figure someone here would know about it... so yeah.  Thanks in advance.

Offline JayOctavarium

• I used to be a whorejerk
  • DTF.org Alumni
  • But then I took a Hef to the knee...
Re: Recommended reading for a bassist?
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2010, 03:13:39 AM »
haha i have Bass for Dummies...

it fails.

AlAwake is going to recommend Victor Wooten's book
I just don't understand what they were trying to achieve with any part of the song, either individually or as a whole. You know what? It's the Platypus of Dream Theater songs. That bill doesn't go with that tail, or that strange little furry body, or those webbed feet, and oh god why does it have venomous spurs!? And then you find out it lays eggs too. The difference is that the Platypus is somehow functional despite being a crazy mishmash or leftover animal pieces

-BlobVanDam on "Scarred"

Offline AlAwake

• When I grow up, I wanna be just like Kip Winger!
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2010, 03:18:03 AM »