Author Topic: The Improv Thread  (Read 3751 times)

Offline antigoon

• Not Elvis
  • DT.net Veteran
  • This was a triumph.
The Improv Thread
« on: July 31, 2010, 04:36:14 PM »
I figured we could use one of these. In this thread, post videos of yourself; ask questions; and discuss improvising! I also want to encourage everyone to give constructive feedback.

I was gonna kick off the thread with a video I just recorded, but Vimeo says I need to wait 15 more minutes for it to be done. I'm pretty new to it all, but man is it nice when something cool actually comes out! :lol

Offline antigoon

• Not Elvis
  • DT.net Veteran
  • This was a triumph.
Re: The Improv Thread
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2010, 05:45:44 PM »
https://www.vimeo.com/13790443

OK, there's the video. I recorded a simple two chord vamp and played a bit over it. I tried to incorporate some out notes and I think that went alright. Something I know I need to work on is my phrasing; I get a bit choppy at points.

Let me know what you think. Be honest.

Offline Scrub206

• DT.net Veteran
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2010, 01:00:17 AM »
i deffinatly have some issues being creative. as a drummer i know its not as important as keeping a steady and solid beat. but i cant come up with to many different beats..

.. i guess i just need to listen to a bigger variety of music

Offline Marvellous G

• I'm not sure on the avatar swearing policy...
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2010, 02:01:05 PM »
https://www.vimeo.com/13790443

OK, there's the video. I recorded a simple two chord vamp and played a bit over it. I tried to incorporate some out notes and I think that went alright. Something I know I need to work on is my phrasing; I get a bit choppy at points.

Let me know what you think. Be honest.